Each year, the United States Sports Academy honors leaders in
sport through its Awards of Sport program. Recipients come from
all arenas and positions in sport, but share the common characteristic
that they are leaders in their area and have made outstanding
contributions to national or international sport through education,
research, or service.

There are twelve awards in the Medallion Series, each honoring
a different aspect of sport.

They are:

The Eagle Award

is the Academy’s highest award. The eagle
was chosen as the focal point of the logo and seal because it
is emblematic of the institution’s quest for excellence in its
unique academic endeavor. The soaring eagle exemplifies man’s
striving for new heights, so symbolic of the aim of education
and athletic competition. Past winners include Nelson Mandela,
President of South Africa, and H.S.H. Prince Albert of Monaco.

The Ronald Reagan Media Award.

Named for the 40th president,
Reagan, the “Great Communicator,” who began his career
broadcasting sporting events. Past winners include Howard Cosell
of ABC Sports and Dick Ebersol of NBC Sports.

The Mildred “Babe” Didrikson Zaharias Courage Award.

One of the greatest track and field Olympians, as well as a professional
golfer who overcame cancer to return to the winner’s circle.
Past winners include jockey Judy Krone and Jim Abbott, baseball
player for the California Angels.

The Amos Alonzo Stagg Coaching Award.

Stagg, “The
Grand Old Man” of the gridiron, was the most winning coach
in college football and also had great records as a track and
basketball coach. Past winners include Eddie Robinson, Head Football
Coach for Grambling University, and John Wooden, the great UCLA
Basketball Coach.

The IOC President’s Disabled Athlete Award.

His Excellency,
Juan Antonio Samaranch, the President of the IOC, authorized
this award in honor of the development of the Paralympics. Past
winners include Linda Mastandrea, Wheelchair Athlete, and Tony
Volpentest, Track and Field Paralympian.

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Fitness Award.

Named for the
34th U.S. President, Supreme Allied Commander in WWII and founder
of the President’s Council for Youth and Sport which served as
a catalyst to the nation’s fitness movement. Past winners include
President George Bush and Arnold Schwartzeneggar.

The Jackie Robinson Humanitarian Award.

Robinson broke
the baseball color barrier with the Brooklyn Dodgers by displaying
his skills, while at the same time subjugating his pride, to
prove an awareness of our failings as well as his abilities.
He was also a great athlete at UCLA as football and track star.
Past winners include Joe Morgan of the Cincinnati Reds and the
Houston Rockets’ Hakeem Olajuwon.

The Theodore Roosevelt Meritorious Achievement Award.

of the Spanish-American War by virtue of his Rough Riders, he
was named the 26th president of the United States. Roosevelt
had a successful career on the playing field and in the boxing
ring. He developed the National Parks System, and was responsible
for the establishment of the National Collegiate Athletic Association
(NCAA). Past winners include Senator Bob Dole and Senator Bill

The Carl Maddox Sport Management Award.

Named for the
long-time athletic director at both LSU and Mississippi State.
Maddox is also a former Chairman of the USSA Board of Trustees.
Past winners include PGA Commissioner Tim Finchem and David Stern,
Commissioner of the NBA.

The Jim Thorpe All-Around Award.

Thorpe, a Native American,
was voted the greatest athlete of the first 50 years of this
century. He was outstanding as a football and baseball player,
and as an Olympian at the 1912 Stockholm Games, won both the
pentathlon and decathlon. Past winners include Bo Jackson, baseball
and football star, and Danny Ainge, baseball and basketball star
and coach.

The Dr. Ernst Jokl Sports Medicine Award.

Jokl, an outstanding
German Olympian, is commonly known as the “Father of Sports
Medicine.” Jokl came to the U.S. in 1952 and served as the
Director of the University of Kentucky Rehabilitation Center.
Jokl was a prolific author and researcher in sports medicine
as well as psychology and sociology. Previous winners include
Jacques Rogge, M.D., IOC Chairman of Sports Medicine, and Sir
Roger Banister.

In addition, the USSA awards several Distinguished Service Awards
each year. Given annually since 1979, DSAs honor those individuals
who have made outstanding contributions to national or international
sport through education, research or service. Former recipients
include Bud Selig, Commissioner of Major League Baseball and
Phillip Knight, CEO of Nike.

The finalle of the Awards of Sport are the Athlete of the Year
Awards, run in conjunction with USA Today, CNN/SI, WPMI-NBC 15
and Alabama Live, who placed the ballot on their web sites. With
over 10,000 people voting each year, Michael Jordan and Martina
Hingis have dominated the awards in the recent past, though Mark
McGwire and Tara Lipinski won last year.

We are currently accepting applications for our 1999 Awards of
Sport. To nominate, please send the nominees name and a brief
reason they should be considered for an award to academy@ussa-sport.ussa.edu
or mail it to:
United States Sports Academy
One Academy Drive
Daphne, Alabama 36526.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email